Archaeological Achievement Awards

Find out more about the Archaeological Achievement Awards, due to be held in December 2021. Nominations are open from 1 August until 31 October 2021.



Formerly the British Archaeology Awards which were last held in October 2018, the awards are now being run by the Council for British Archaeology (CBA) with the support of a steering group and aim to celebrate archaeological achievements from across the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. To reflect this change, we have renamed the awards the Archaeological Achievement Awards.

There will be 5 award categories and one overall outstanding achievement award with an emphasis on a range of cross cutting themes that are designed to show how archaeology relates to wider society, health and wellbeing, and place. Nominations open on 1 August and the awards ceremony will be held in December 2021.

Nominations close on 31 October 2021.

Award Categories 2021
  • Outstanding achievement award  
  • Archaeological innovation 
  • Public dissemination or presentation
  • Engagement and participation
  • Early career archaeologist
  • Learning, training and skills