16 Aug 2022

Nominations now open for the Archaeological Achievement Awards 2022 – celebrating the best of the UK and the Republic of Ireland’s archaeology

On Sunday 31st July at the Council for British Archaeology’s (CBA) Festival of Archaeology closing event, nominations for the Archaeological Achievement Awards (AAA) were announced as open.

1 Jeannette Plummer Sires and Neil Redfern at Corfe Castle with AA Awards Banners small.jpg

The Awards celebrate the best of archaeology in the UK and Republic of Ireland through five award categories.



The 2022 awards categories are:

  • Archaeological Innovation Award
  • Public Dissemination and Participation Award
  • Learning, Training and Skills Award
  • Early Career Archaeologist Award
  • Outstanding Achievement Awar

Nomination are now open and the CBA are calling out applications before the deadline is 12pm on 30th September 2022.

The Awards, which were formerly the British Archaeology Awards, are coordinated by the Council for British Archaeology (CBA) with the support of a judging panel. They were renamed the Archaeological Achievement Awards in 2021 to reflect their focus on celebrating outstanding achievement in the sector.

The ceremony, in which the winners of each category will be announced, are taking place in Ireland in November 2022.